Insurance Lawyers and Insurance Claim Representation in Bulgaria

A policy exclusion, a breach of duty and a disputed valuation require different responses. ARG identifies the applicable defence, evidence and payment entitlement before challenging an insurer’s decision.

🕔
Published
06.14.2022
Insurance Lawyers

A small business asks ARG why its insurer has rejected a documented water-damage claim by referring to maintenance conditions. In this illustrative situation, the key question is whether the policy excludes the event or the insurer must prove a particular breach and its effect. The answer determines whether to challenge the refusal, the amount or both.

  • A refusal based on an exclusion that does not match the damage.
  • A reduction attributed to late notice or an alleged precautionary failure.
  • A payment below the supported repair or medical amount.
  • Uncertainty over the insured person or beneficiary entitled to payment.
  • A proposed final settlement while significant losses remain unresolved.

At a glance

(001)
Identify the protected interest

The policyholder, insured person, beneficiary and injured third party may hold different rights in the same insurance arrangement.

(002)
Classify the insurer’s objection

A genuine exclusion, a breached obligation and a valuation disagreement require different legal arguments and evidence.

(003)
Connect evidence with the contract

A persuasive claim links the event and each item of loss to the accepted risk and the applicable measure of payment.

(004)
Understand the final release

Settlement wording can affect interest, future consequences and claims against other responsible persons as well as the immediate payment.

What rights arise under an insurance contract governed by Bulgarian law?

The starting point is the risk assumed by the insurer, rather than the reassuring name of the product. The Bulgarian Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ) links the insurer's undertaking to the agreed risk and insurance event in Article 343(1). A restrained comparison is useful for readers familiar with England and Wales, where the Insurance Act 2015 also regulates insurance contract obligations, including fair presentation of non-consumer risks. The Bulgarian provisions and the particular Bulgarian policy nevertheless determine this claim. Neither an English policy label nor the premium's size establishes the scope of Bulgarian cover.

Who are the insurer, policyholder, insured person and beneficiary?

Four positions need to be distinguished. The policyholder concludes the contract and undertakes the premium obligation. The insured person holds the protected interest or bears the covered liability. A beneficiary may be entitled to the payment. An injured third party may have a direct statutory claim against a liability insurer. These positions sometimes coincide, but the guesthouse owner, the operating company and the lending bank may occupy different positions. Identifying them determines whose loss is being claimed, whose documents are needed and whose name belongs in a payment demand or eventual court claim.

The interest must be economically and legally identifiable. Insurance interest matters under Article 349 of КЗ to the validity and continuation of the insurance relationship. A person cannot establish an entitlement merely by producing evidence that they paid the premium for someone else's property. Conversely, ownership is not the only possible relevant interest. The policy may protect another lawful economic exposure, depending on its wording and the type of insurance. The lawyer therefore connects the contractual description with the ownership documents, lease, financing arrangements or liability relationship instead of assuming that the person who first contacts the insurer is necessarily the creditor.

What makes an event fall within the insured risk?

A policy should be read as a contractual package, with attention to the order and date of its components. The individual schedule might identify a workshop and machinery, an annex might add a new site, and the general conditions might distinguish equipment from stock. Essential contractual matters, including covered risks and obligations relevant to payment, must be stated clearly under Article 345 of КЗ. The question is not whether a word appears somewhere in a lengthy document, but whether the term relied on formed part of the agreement and addresses the factual event that occurred.

Coverage analysis then follows the actual event. Escape of water, gradual deterioration and defective workmanship may receive different contractual treatment, even where they produce similar stains. The claimant needs a factual account of the source, timing and resulting damage. A technician's observation that a joint failed can be more useful than a statement that the premises were generally well maintained. Where several causes operated, the lawyer must identify which allegation concerns the event itself and which concerns the insured's subsequent failure to limit additional damage. Those are different legal questions with different possible consequences.

How does insurance coverage differ from compensation owed by a wrongdoer?

An insurer promises the performance defined by the insured risk and the policy. A wrongdoer answers for the loss caused through a legally actionable wrong. The latter route may arise under Article 45 of the Obligations and Contracts Act (Закон за задълженията и договорите, ЗЗД). Its closest functional comparison in England and Wales is tort liability for damage, including negligence, but Bulgarian requirements govern. Proof that a contractor caused a leak does not by itself prove that the owner’s policy covers defective workmanship. Equally, absence of insurance does not eliminate an otherwise established claim against the person responsible.

A liability claim follows another route. An injured person may demand compensation directly from the responsible person's liability insurer under Article 432(1) of КЗ, subject to the written claim requirements of Article 380. That does not remove the need to establish the insured person's liability, the causal connection and the loss. Nor does it mean every promise made by the insured binds the insurer. A settlement or acknowledgment by the insured has effect against the insurer when approved under Article 434. Informal agreement with the wrong participant can therefore leave an injured claimant with an unexpected payment dispute.

When can an exclusion be enforced against the claimant?

An exclusion and a sanction for breach of duty should not be treated as interchangeable. An exclusion defines a risk that the contract did not assume, subject to the applicable mandatory rules. A breach defence accepts a contractual relationship but alleges that the insured's conduct justifies withholding or reducing payment. This distinction affects both the relevant provisions and the evidence. If the insurer alleges that a policy never covered gradual seepage, the cause and contractual definition are central. If it accepts a covered burst pipe but alleges failure to maintain it, the significance and causal effect of that supposed breach require examination.

The incorporation rule in Article 348(1) of КЗ is especially important where the insurer relies on general conditions. Delivery at conclusion and written acceptance are required, while a conflicting individual agreement takes precedence. If an endorsement expressly extends cover to a newly acquired machine, a general description should not be read in isolation as if the endorsement did not exist. Conversely, an email asking for additional cover is not necessarily proof that the insurer agreed to provide it. The distinction between a request, an offer and an accepted amendment can determine the result before any valuation evidence is considered.

How do risk disclosure and notification of loss differ?

Pre-contractual disclosure has its own statutory structure. The insured's duty under Article 362 of КЗ concerns known material circumstances addressed through the insurer's written questions. The questionnaire, the answers actually given and the information already available to the insurer therefore deserve close attention. A disputed oral conversation cannot simply be treated as an unlimited written disclosure obligation. The analysis also distinguishes a deliberate inaccurate answer from an innocent one. Different consequences follow under Articles 363 and 364, and the insurer must establish the conditions of the particular remedy it invokes.

Even deliberate non-disclosure does not produce the same result in every claim. Refusal after an event depends under Article 363(4) of КЗ on the inaccurate or omitted circumstance influencing its occurrence. If it only increased the damage, the statute instead addresses a reduction related to the premium that should have been charged. Innocent non-disclosure under Article 364(4) has another treatment. These distinctions are important where an insurer argues that any inaccurate answer permits cancellation of the entire payment. A proper response identifies the precise question, the insured's knowledge and the factual link claimed by the insurer.

Late notice should also be analysed under the relevant rule rather than treated as automatic forfeiture. For property insurance, Article 403(4) of КЗ connects refusal to intentional obstruction of the investigation or to notice delay making the circumstances impossible to establish. The insurer cannot rely on that refusal ground if it already knew of the event in time under Article 403(5). A short delay accompanied by preserved photographs, immediate official reports and an available inspection may therefore require a different assessment from destruction of the scene before anyone could examine it. The claimant should explain the chronology accurately rather than invent an earlier notification date.

What can a claimant demand after a refusal?

For a covered property loss, the substantive demand is payment of the indemnity due under Article 405(1) of КЗ, with its amount supported by the applicable valuation rules and policy limit. A valid refusal of one item does not explain rejection of a separately covered item. Where payment is overdue, statutory interest may also be due under Article 409, subject to the payment-information rule in Article 380(3). A reasoned refusal should be tested against those obligations, rather than treated as a final adjudication of the claim.

The written claim should identify the event, the claimant's entitlement and the payment sought, with the supporting material actually available. A complete and accurate payment account is required by Article 380(1) of КЗ unless compensation is to be provided in kind. Omitting payment details can have consequences for delay interest under Article 380(3). The insurer must register the claim and the documents supplied under Article 106(2). Keeping that acknowledgment is important because the date of a telephone conversation may differ from the date when a legally relevant written claim was received.

The claimant can request a written factual and legal explanation of the determined amount through the complaint mechanism in Article 108(6) of КЗ, which provides a seven day response period. That is different from assuming that a complaint itself produces a binding award. The explanation can reveal whether the disagreement concerns excluded items, depreciation, a deductible or arithmetic. Any payment should then be recorded accurately as received, with careful attention to accompanying release wording. A remaining balance claim must account for the payment while preserving whatever disputed entitlement has not validly been settled.

When must the insurer prove specific facts behind its defence?

The allocation of proof follows the Bulgarian Civil Procedure Code (Граждански процесуален кодекс, ГПК), especially Article 154(1). The institutional counterpart in England and Wales is the Civil Procedure Rules governing civil evidence, including expert control under Part 35. Bulgarian proceedings retain their own allocation and methods. The claimant must establish the facts creating the claimed insurance entitlement. An insurer relying on an exclusion or a consequence of breach must establish the facts supporting that defence. The distinction matters where the parties agree that a fire happened but disagree about its origin or the legal effect of a particular storage practice.

A substantial breach does not justify refusal simply because the policy describes it in stern language. The refusal ground in Article 408(1), item 3 of КЗ requires breach of a significant statutory or contractual duty that led to the insurance event. For property protection duties, Article 395(4) also distinguishes the conditions for refusal from reduction. A contractual clause cannot replace the necessary factual connection with an irrebuttable assumption. The insurer should identify the duty, the actual omission and the mechanism by which it caused the event, rather than equating every imperfect precaution with loss of cover.

A concrete judicial example is Judgment No. 604 of 22 October 2024 in civil case No. 1679/2023 of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation, Fourth Civil Division. It concerned theft of an insured truck and a clause providing an automatic fifty percent reduction because a registration document remained in the vehicle. The court required proof of causation under the current insurance regime and rejected an automatic reduction unsupported by that proof. The judgment did not declare every precautionary clause ineffective. Its practical significance is the need to prove the legally relevant effect of the breach, including when the insured is a business.

Let’s discuss your plans for Bulgaria

Tell us where you live, how your business works and what you want to change. We will help you identify the questions to resolve and the next steps to consider.

How do limitation and decision periods differ between insurance types?

The Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ) separates the time allowed for a payment decision from the limitation of the underlying claim. The Insurance Act 2015 in England and Wales is a limited comparison for statutory insurance-contract regulation, including non-consumer risk presentation. It does not determine the Bulgarian deadlines. The insurance class must be identified before either clock can be calculated.

The limitation period and the insurer’s decision period perform different functions. Property indemnity ordinarily has a three-year limitation period under Article 378(1) of КЗ. Life, accident and sickness insurance, and the specified direct liability claims, have five years under paragraph 2. The usual starting point is the event, with specific exceptions including retroactive cover and later injury deterioration. A claim suspends time only until receipt of the decision or the applicable statutory outer decision deadline, whichever is earlier, under paragraph 9. Continuing correspondence is not a new limitation period.

Decision deadlines depend on the insurance class and the completeness of the evidence. For the insurance categories covered by Article 108(1) of КЗ, excluding large risks, the insurer generally has fifteen working days after receipt of all required evidence to pay or give a reasoned refusal. The outer limit under Article 108(2) is six months for the specified claims with incomplete evidence, while compulsory motor liability follows the separate three month framework in Article 496(1). Those periods must not be reduced to a universal promise that every insurer owes payment fifteen days after the first notification.

Which policy documents and claim records should be compared?

The contractual documents should be recovered promptly, including the schedule, endorsements, questionnaire and the version of the general conditions accepted at conclusion. The right to a certified policy copy under Article 344(4) of КЗ is useful where records were destroyed or retained by an intermediary. The insurer cannot refuse or reduce payment merely because the original is missing. If the claimant was insured without being the policyholder, the documentation rights in Article 344(3) also deserve attention. Access to the actual contractual terms is necessary before agreeing that a claimed exclusion applies.

Receipt should be capable of proof. The insurer must register the claim and each document submitted under Article 106(2) of КЗ. An acknowledgment, portal receipt or dated incoming reference can therefore become important evidence of what reached the insurer and when. A file saved on the claimant's computer does not prove delivery. When documents are supplied in stages, the covering communication should identify the new material rather than reproduce a vague statement that everything has already been provided. This helps establish which factual issue remains open and whether a later demand repeats an earlier satisfied request.

What if the event occurred before cover began?

The decisive date is when the insured event occurred within the agreed cover, not simply when a bill arrived. The cover period is defined by Article 351(1) of КЗ, and unless otherwise agreed it begins after payment of the premium or first instalment under paragraph 3. A later discovery of water damage therefore requires evidence of when the relevant escape of water happened, rather than an assumption that discovery brings an older event into the new policy.

Retroactive cover is possible under Article 355(1) of КЗ, but must actually have been granted. It is invalid for an event the policyholder or insured knew had occurred when contracting under paragraph 2, with representative knowledge addressed in paragraph 3. Retroactive cover is prohibited by paragraph 4 for compulsory motor liability and compulsory passenger accident insurance. The previous policy, agreed retroactive date, renewal correspondence and technical chronology may therefore change the answer. Backdating the account of the event is not a lawful substitute for coverage.

When do valuation experts or medical records determine the amount?

Property valuation and medical assessment answer different questions. A property expert can distinguish necessary reinstatement from improvement, price the damaged items and test depreciation or a contractual proportional calculation. Medical records connect diagnosis, treatment and lasting consequences to the insured event. The policy must then be classified as promising reimbursement, an agreed sum or another defined benefit. A medical expense invoice alone does not prove entitlement to a fixed disability benefit, just as an injury diagnosis does not establish that every treatment expense falls within the particular cover.

Specialist findings are tested through the Civil Procedure Code (Граждански процесуален кодекс, ГПК), including appointment of an expert under Article 195(1). Court-controlled expert evidence under Part 35 of the Civil Procedure Rules in England and Wales provides a limited procedural comparison. The Bulgarian expert should identify the technical or medical facts needed for the particular benefit. The court determines their legal effect and does not delegate interpretation of policy coverage to the expert.

A disputed water-damage valuation should separate the source of the leak, the work necessary to restore the property and any improvement included in the quotation. An electrical replacement may be necessary because of contamination even if the component still operates, while an upgraded system may exceed restoration of the insured loss. The expert needs inspection evidence supporting that distinction. The insurer’s percentage reduction should likewise be traceable to measured damage, an applicable valuation rule or a proven causal effect of the alleged breach. The court evaluates those findings with the other evidence under Article 202 of ГПК; a total figure without its factual assumptions does not resolve the disagreement.

What happens if the claimant accepts a partial payment?

An unconditional payment of an undisputed portion is different from signing a final release. The remaining demand should subtract the amount actually received, but receipt alone should not be described as a settlement without examining the accompanying agreement. A release may settle particular expenses, all consequences of an event or rights belonging to another beneficiary. The client should know which claim is being surrendered before accepting the wording, especially where treatment or the full repair assessment remains incomplete.

The court's approach in Judgment No. 604 of 22 October 2024, civil case No. 1679/2023, Fourth Civil Division of the Supreme Court of Cassation, also illustrates the separate valuation stage. After rejecting the unsupported automatic reduction, the court still considered the actual vehicle value, the insured sum, prior payment and unpaid premium deductions. The decision did not convert the policy's maximum sum into an unconditional award. A claimant relying on its causation reasoning should therefore also prepare a defensible calculation of the remaining debt and account for payments already made.

When should a liable third party be pursued?

The claim against a wrongdoer needs its own legal basis and causal evidence. General tort liability is governed by Article 45 of the Obligations and Contracts Act (Закон за задълженията и договорите, ЗЗД), functionally comparable to tort compensation, including negligence, in England and Wales. For example, a neighbour responsible for a damaging escape of water is not released merely because the affected owner’s policy excludes that event. Conversely, an insurer’s refusal does not prove that the neighbour caused it.

Another person’s liability may remain relevant where the policy excludes the event, the loss exceeds the insurance limit or part of it remains uninsured. The claimant still needs to establish that person’s legal responsibility. Where property insurance has already paid, Article 410(1) of КЗ transfers the corresponding recovery right to the insurer within the payment and ordinary assessment expenses. The insured should preserve cooperation under paragraph 3 and separate the unpaid balance. The same loss cannot be recovered twice by presenting it once as an insurance debt and again as damage.

A proposed settlement should identify the claim it resolves and the persons entitled to receive performance. An unconditional final release may have a much wider effect than accepting an undisputed payment on account. Where the insured has settled a liability claim with an injured person, insurer approval under Article 434 of КЗ matters to the settlement's effect against the insurer. An insured who has paid the injured person seeks reimbursement within the cover and limit under Article 435, subject to that approval framework. Signing first and seeking the insurer's agreement afterwards can therefore change the practical recovery position.

How can a claimant abroad pursue the Bulgarian insurance dispute?

Which institution can award the disputed payment?

The Financial Supervision Commission can examine compliance with insurance rules, while a disputed civil payment is determined by the competent court. A regulatory complaint is therefore different from a judgment ordering the insurer to pay the remaining debt. The defendant must be the insurer or other person liable on the pleaded basis, not automatically the broker who sold the policy. ARG can arrange representation through appropriately authorised Bulgarian attorneys and the necessary valuation or medical expertise.

A direct compulsory motor liability claim has a particular pre-action condition. The injured person must first submit the written claim required by Article 498(1) of КЗ. Court proceedings for payment become available under paragraph 3 where the insurer fails to pay within the Article 496 period, refuses payment or the injured person disputes the amount determined or paid. This condition should not be mechanically transferred to every voluntary insurance dispute. The correct route depends on whether the claimant sues on their own policy, as a beneficiary or as an injured third party under liability cover.

Which overseas documents and enforcement questions matter?

For a claimant abroad, the event records should remain traceable to their source. Foreign treatment records should identify the patient, dates, diagnosis and treatment, while repair invoices should identify the damaged property and actual work. A Bulgarian translation may be needed for the proceeding, but translation does not cure missing causation or prove that a cost was paid. The original electronic files and complete payment records are therefore more useful than isolated translated screenshots.

The insurer’s identity, establishment and assets matter separately from the language of the policy. A foreign address can raise jurisdiction, service and enforcement questions, which depend on the countries and applicable rules. Representation should expressly address receipt of communications and any authority to settle. An enforceable Bulgarian judgment and payment from an insurer abroad are different stages, so the intended debtor and enforcement route should be identified before the final litigation decision.

Continue exploring

More in this category

Compare the related procedures in this category, including their requirements and the stage at which you need them.

Insurance Law
View category
Average rating
4.4510
/ 5
Total votes
384

Was this page helpful?

Rate the information you have just read.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Questions and answers

01 / 06

Should the original policy be sent if the insurer already has it?

Keep your own complete copy, including the schedule, applicable conditions and amendments. Comparing both sets may reveal a disputed version or a missing individual agreement.

Can repairs begin before the insurer decides?

Necessary mitigation may be appropriate, but preserve evidence and offer a reasonable inspection opportunity where possible. The nature of the emergency and the policy obligations should guide the steps taken.

Does a complaint to the regulator establish my compensation?

A supervisory complaint concerns matters within the regulator’s competence. A disputed private entitlement and its amount may still require settlement or a civil court decision.

Can the claim be managed from abroad?

Much of the preparation can be coordinated remotely. An attorney determines the necessary authority, translations and any personal participation required for the particular procedure.