A low offer may reflect a disputed cause, missing repair work or the wrong valuation method. ARG helps identify the issue and pursue the property insurance payment supported by the policy and evidence.

Clients often ask ARG whether they can repair a flooded Bulgarian property immediately and challenge the insurer’s low offer afterwards. The answer depends on preserving the cause and extent of damage while taking necessary steps to prevent it from getting worse. A mortgage beneficiary or separate contents policy may also change who receives the payment.
ARG can assist in the following situations.
Building ownership, tenant improvements, equipment and stock can belong to different people and require different insurance rights.
Water ingress, fire and storm consequences must be connected to the risks defined by the actual policy.
Actual value and reinstatement value differ, and proportional underinsurance requires examination of the applicable contractual agreement.
Document urgent work and hidden damage so necessary mitigation does not leave the eventual claim without reliable proof.
The policy must cover both the damaged property and the cause of its damage. A building insured against fire is not automatically insured against every form of water ingress. The agreed risks and exclusions must be clearly identified under Article 345(1) and (5) of the Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ). Commercial insurance wording in England and Wales, within the framework including the Insurance Act 2015, provides a broad comparison, but the Bulgarian contract and statutory protections determine this claim. The useful starting question is which insured event the facts establish, rather than whether the loss feels accidental.
Read the schedule together with the applicable general conditions and endorsements. Individually agreed terms prevail over conflicting general conditions under Article 348(1) КЗ. A later version downloaded from the insurer's website may not be the version incorporated into the contract. If the insurer relies on a condition introduced after inception, its delivery and written acceptance matter under Article 348(4). A broad marketing description cannot resolve a dispute over an express territorial limitation, an excluded cause or the assets actually scheduled.
A coverage exclusion also differs from a sanction for breaching a duty. A policy may exclude gradual deterioration as a cause, while separately requiring maintenance or prompt notification. The insurer should identify which argument it makes and the facts supporting it. Proving that a covered storm damaged the roof does not automatically answer an allegation that a particular maintenance failure caused the event. Equally, describing an omitted maintenance step does not establish that every resulting loss falls outside cover.
The insured interest must belong to the person claiming protection. An owner, tenant and bank can have different interests in the same building. A tenant's improvements, stock and equipment are not necessarily included in the landlord's insurance. An identifiable monetary interest can be insured under Article 399 КЗ, while Article 349 requires an insurable interest. The deed, lease and policy therefore answer different questions. Ownership proves a relevant relationship to the building; it does not by itself prove that every asset inside was insured for that owner's benefit.
The sum insured is normally a limit, not an automatic payout. Compensation generally follows the actual damage at the time of the event under Article 386(1) and (2) КЗ, subject to the statutory and contractual valuation regime. If only one room is damaged, the fact that the whole building is insured for a much larger amount does not entitle the owner to that entire amount. Conversely, a small repair estimate may omit necessary drying, dismantling or reinstatement which the covered damage actually requires.
A genuinely agreed fixed insurance value under Article 387 is a distinct arrangement. It should not be inferred merely because the schedule contains a figure described as the sum insured. The distinction affects how a valuation dispute is approached. Identify whether the contract specifies actual value, reinstatement value or an agreed fixed value, then test the insurer's calculation against that basis. An assessment using depreciated second-hand prices may be inappropriate where a valid reinstatement-value agreement governs the loss.
The physical mechanism determines which wording is relevant. A burst supply pipe, rain entering through storm damage, groundwater rising into a basement and moisture spreading through an old waterproofing defect can all leave wet walls. They need not constitute the same insured peril. Evidence should establish where the water originated, when it entered and what damage each cause produced. An emergency plumber's description of a fresh rupture may be more useful than a later photograph showing only staining.
Where the insurer relies on breach of a preventive duty, causation cannot simply be presumed. In Decision No. 604 of 22 October 2024, civil case No. 1679/2023, Fourth Civil Division, the Supreme Court of Cassation rejected an automatic reduction mechanism which bypassed the causal and proportionality requirements of Article 395(4) and (5) КЗ. The case concerned vehicle theft, not a flooded building. Its relevant point is the statutory treatment of breached preventive duties, not a ruling that all water exclusions are invalid. A claim concerning an old pipe must still distinguish an excluded cause from a causal breach of an insured person's obligation.
A low sum insured does not invariably produce a proportional reduction. The default in Article 389(1) КЗ is payment of the full covered damage up to the sum insured, outside the specified agreed-value exception. Proportional compensation applies where the contract contains that agreement under paragraph 2. Suppose the relevant property value is €200,000, the sum insured is €100,000 and covered damage is €40,000. The default calculation would be €40,000 within the limit; an applicable proportional clause could produce €20,000 before other valid adjustments. These figures illustrate the assumed terms, not a universal insurance formula.
Your own property insurer's obligation depends on the policy and the applicable insurance rules. A claim against the person responsible for the flooding depends on that person's civil liability. The general tort provisions in Articles 45 and 50 of the Obligations and Contracts Act (Закон за задълженията и договорите, ЗЗД) distinguish culpable conduct from damage originating from things, with the actual mechanism determining the relevant basis. Negligence and property-related tort liability in England and Wales provide a limited functional comparison, without replacing the Bulgarian statutory tests.
This matters when a neighbour denies fault but the event is insured, or when the insurer rejects a loss which the neighbour may still have caused unlawfully. The routes should be assessed separately. After payment, the insurer acquires recovery rights within Article 410 КЗ. The owner cannot recover the same compensated damage twice, but a genuinely uncompensated part may remain relevant to a separate demand. Signing a broad release for the neighbour before the insurance position is resolved can prejudice that recovery structure. Any settlement should identify the particular damage and payment it covers.
Actual value reflects the cost of acquiring property of the same kind and quality. Reinstatement value concerns replacement with new property of the same kind and quality, including inherent delivery, construction or installation expenses without depreciation, as defined in Article 400(1) and (2) КЗ. The default actual-value approach in paragraph 3 can be changed by agreement. An insurer therefore needs a contractual and factual basis for applying depreciation, rather than treating every repaired component as automatically subject to the same percentage.
The repair scope should distinguish restoration from improvement. Replacing damaged plaster and necessary underlying insulation differs from redesigning an undamaged room. Equally, repainting only the visibly wet patch may fail to restore a surface which cannot reasonably be repaired in that limited way. Quantities, material specifications, labour and the technical necessity of associated work should be explained. Retained salvage and an agreed excess may affect the final figure, but each deduction should have an identified basis. An unexplained final total makes it impossible to assess whether the disagreement concerns coverage, measurements, prices or valuation method.
A building schedule does not automatically include stock, movable machinery, customers' goods or a tenant's equipment. Coverage can be arranged for a collection of property, and Article 401 КЗ addresses such insurance, but its scope must be read against the identified interest and contract. Stock records and invoices help distinguish items owned by the insured from goods merely stored on the premises. Separate ownership does not make insurance impossible; it makes the identity of the insured interest and beneficiary important.
Financial consequences also need their own basis. Lost profit is excluded unless otherwise agreed under Article 405(2) КЗ. A shop may therefore receive building repairs while its lost sales fall outside the policy. Business interruption, temporary relocation and particular additional expenses should be checked against their actual extensions and limits. One storm can affect the building, contents and trading at once, yet each part needs a supported calculation. Presenting them separately prevents a sound physical-damage claim from becoming obscured by unsupported demands for every commercial consequence of the closure.
Tell us where you live, how your business works and what you want to change. We will help you identify the questions to resolve and the next steps to consider.
The actual use of the premises matters where it engages the insurer's written risk questions or an applicable coverage condition. The disclosure rules in Article 362 of the Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ) distinguish circumstances expressly asked about from assumptions made after the loss. The fair-presentation regime for commercial insurance in England and Wales under the Insurance Act 2015 is a limited comparison, not the Bulgarian legal test. An insurer which accepted a disclosed use cannot simply treat that same use as concealed when a claim arrives.
A later change also requires attention. Newly arising circumstances about which the insurer asked written questions must be reported promptly after discovery under Article 365(1) КЗ. The consequences are assessed through Articles 363 and 364, not through an automatic rule that every inaccurate description cancels cover. For conscious misstatement, Article 363(4) distinguishes an influence on occurrence from an influence only on the size of damage. A warehouse described as an office therefore raises specific questions about the proposal, actual activity, the insurer's knowledge and the connection with the fire, rather than an answer based solely on the label on the front door.
Each document should prove a disputed point. A fire-service report can record the observed origin, affected areas and measures taken, but it may not establish the final contractual valuation. Original photographs should show the entire affected room and closer details, with a reliable date and location. A contractor's estimate should identify quantities and the work required, rather than provide one sum for renovation. Pre-event inventories, maintenance records and earlier photographs help distinguish new damage from an old defect.
Preserve the proposal, written questions, replies, inspection records and endorsements as well as the policy itself. If the insurer knew that a workshop operated in the building, that evidence is directly relevant to an allegation of concealed use. If the activity changed later, establish when it changed and what notification was sent. A signed inspection report should be checked for factual accuracy before acceptance. Disagreement about the cause or extent of damage can be recorded without refusing access for a legitimate inspection under Article 395(7) КЗ.
Yes, especially if damaged components are discarded before their condition is recorded. Nevertheless, the insured must take appropriate steps to limit damage under Article 395(6) КЗ. Leaving water inside solely to preserve a photograph can increase the loss. The practical solution is safe mitigation with a contemporaneous record. Photograph the condition before removal, record measurements, retain representative components where safe, and obtain a contractor's account of what was found. Notify the insurer and keep its instructions, including instructions given after the first inspection.
Appropriate loss-limitation expenses can be reimbursable under Article 396(1), even if the effort fails. Expenses incurred in following the insurer's instructions receive the additional protection in paragraph 3. By contrast, privately commissioned investigation and valuation costs fall under the prior-approval requirement in Article 397(1). Where important evidence is at risk of disappearing, advance collection can be sought under Articles 207 and 208 of the Civil Procedure Code (Граждански процесуален кодекс, ГПК). Civil evidence preservation in England and Wales is a functional comparison only. Before a claim is filed, the Bulgarian application concerning inspection of the property goes to the district court where it is situated. Preservation records evidence; it does not decide coverage.
A useful challenge identifies the particular inference that is wrong. If an expert attributes all dampness to deterioration, ask whether a documented pipe rupture caused a separable part. If a roof was already worn, establish whether the storm caused fresh damage and which repair items follow from it. The insured proves the facts supporting the claim, while the insurer must substantiate the legal and factual grounds of its defence under the applicable allocation of proof in Article 154(1) ГПК. A technical opinion does not itself decide the meaning or validity of a policy clause.
The distinction is reinforced by Supreme Court of Cassation Decision No. 604 of 22 October 2024, civil case No. 1679/2023, Fourth Civil Division. In that vehicle-theft dispute, the court required the insurer to establish the causal and proportional basis for a reduction under Article 395(4) and (5) КЗ. A building claim can use that reasoning where the same preventive-duty regime is genuinely in issue. It cannot use the judgment to dispense with proving an insured event or to invalidate an unrelated exclusion without analysis.
A mortgage does not mean that the owner can ignore the policy's beneficiary arrangement. Where the debtor or a third-party mortgage provider took insurance in favour of the creditor, Article 383(1) КЗ protects the creditor within the sum insured for the relevant outstanding obligation, including the specified principal, interest and expenses at the event date. The creditor must be notified promptly under paragraph 2. The loan documents and endorsement should therefore be read before treating the proposed payment as freely available repair money.
The payment mechanism in Article 383(4) directs the relevant amount to the creditor and the remainder, if any, to the entitled debtor or third-party security provider according to the stated arrangement. Obtain a dated balance and clarify whether the bank agrees to release funds for repairs. An owner should not promise a contractor the entire indemnity while the bank is entitled to receive it. Conversely, an unexplained instruction to pay the bank everything should be compared with the actual debt and beneficiary terms. The fire does not by itself discharge the loan or suspend scheduled payments.
Separate the losses before deciding whether the contract treats them as one event. Roof damage, wet stock and destroyed equipment can fall under different sections, sublimits and excesses. Event-aggregation wording may affect whether one or several excesses apply. The fact that everything happened on the same evening does not resolve that contractual question. Record the sequence and location of each loss and require any proposed grouping or separation to be explained by the actual wording.
Check earlier payments and remaining cover as well. Following a partial loss, Article 407 КЗ contains the default rule reducing the remaining sum insured by compensation paid, subject to its contractual and statutory qualifications. A later storm can therefore encounter a different available limit. Where another policy covers the same interest and risk, the multiple-insurance rules in Articles 391 and 392 also matter. Several policy documents do not create several recoveries of the same damage. A landlord's building interest and a tenant's separately insured stock, however, should not be incorrectly treated as duplicate cover merely because both were affected at one address.
Submit a written claim with complete, accurate payment-account details unless restoration in kind applies, as required by Article 380(1) КЗ. Preserve proof of receipt and subsequent evidence submissions. For ordinary property claims within Article 108(1), the insurer must determine and pay the amount or give a reasoned refusal within fifteen working days after all required evidence is provided. The incomplete-file maximum is six months under paragraph 2. The distinct large-risk rules must be assessed where applicable, including the qualification in Article 109. A commercial owner is not automatically outside the ordinary timetable.
For a dispute about the amount, the insurer owes a written factual and legal explanation within seven days under Article 108(6). A supervisory complaint to the Financial Supervision Commission concerns compliance; it is not a judgment awarding the disputed indemnity. An unresolved payment claim requires the competent civil court, with the correct claimant, insurer and requested amount. International jurisdiction and domestic venue must be checked separately where a foreign insurer or owner is involved. ARG can coordinate local inspections and representation through appropriately authorised Bulgarian attorneys. The insurer's branch or claims handler should not automatically be named as the defendant instead of the contracting insurer.
Foreign ownership-company records, authority to act and technical reports must identify the person entitled to claim. Documents in another language require an accurate Bulgarian translation for court under Article 185 ГПК. The owner should distinguish authority to manage a claim from authority to sign a final release or receive money. The required form and authentication depend on the document and issuing country. A local contractor can facilitate access while the owner is abroad, but cannot settle the owner's rights merely because they possess the keys.
The ordinary property-indemnity limitation period is three years from the insured event under Article 378(1) КЗ. Submission suspends its running under paragraph 9 until receipt of the insurer's decision or expiry of the applicable maximum decision period, whichever occurs first. Repeated reconsideration requests do not keep that suspension open indefinitely. Before accepting payment, determine whether the document records a partial payment or releases the entire claim, including hidden damage and interest. Match the release to an identified repair scope and the actual amount paid. This is especially important where drying or opening a wall may reveal damage which the first inspection could not establish.
Compare the related procedures in this category, including their requirements and the stage at which you need them.